The First Step in the Process
Filing for divorce in Texas can be a complicated process. It is important to understand the requirements and how the process works in order to make sure everything goes as smoothly as possible. Continue reading to learn the basics of how to file for divorce in Texas.
To file for divorce in Texas, you must have been a resident of the state for at least six months prior to filing and a resident of the county where you plan to file for at least 90 days. You will need to file a petition for divorce with the district clerk in your county.
If you have minor children with your spouse, you will also need to complete a parenting course and submit a final decree signed by both parties and filed with the court.
Overview of Process
The process for filing for divorce in Texas is as follows:
- File a petition for divorce with the district clerk in your county along with any other required documents.
- Your spouse will be served with papers notifying them of the divorce.
- Once your spouse has been served, they will have 20 days to respond.
- If your spouse does not respond, you can file for a default divorce.
- If your spouse does respond, you will attend a mediation meeting to try and reach an agreement on the terms of the divorce.
- If you are unable to reach an agreement, the case will go to trial.
- After trial, the court will issue a final decree of divorce.
The process for filing for divorce in Texas can be complex and it is important to understand all of the requirements before beginning the process. An experienced attorney can help guide you through the process and ensure that everything is done correctly.
At The Law Office of Derek S. Ritchie, PLLC, we can help you work through every step of the divorce process and guide you toward a better future. Learn more about how we can help with divorce in Texas or schedule a consultation by calling (210) 775-2000 or by visiting our website.